Skip to main content
School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science

EECS teaching staff recognised at the QMSU Education Awards


In early May, several members of the teaching staff within the School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science were recognised at this year’s Queen Mary University of London Students’ Union Education Awards.

Dr Tassos Tombros won Teacher of the Year, an award for an outstanding all-round teacher who is enthusiastic about their subject, shows commitment to getting the best out of their students and who's teaching always leaves them wanting more. Dr Tombros also received the Academic Advice Champion award.

Professor Patrick Healey received the Education for Sustainable Development award. This is awarded to celebrate a member of teaching or academic staff who has incorporated sustainability into their teaching or activities for students this year.

Dr Mahesha Samaratunga was shortlisted for Student Voice Champion and Ho Huen, Electronics Teaching Lab Manager, was shortlisted for Support Staff Member of the Year.

A huge congratulations to all the EECS winners and nominees!



Back to top