Menu

School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science

research-showcase-2015 menu

Demonstrations and posters

research showcase demos 1

We have a huge range of exciting research, from across all our research groups, being demonstrated at this event:

All Videos Posters Demos

0.1 to 4.5 THz time domain spectroscopy system

Contact: Clive Parini or Robert Donnan

Email: c.g.parini@qmul.ac.uk or r.donnan@qmul.ac.uk

3D sensing for scene modelling and revealing the unreadable

Contact: Riccardo Mazzon

Email: r.mazzon@qmul.ac.uk

A hybrid recurrent neural network for music transcription

Contact: Siddharth Sigtia

Email: s.s.sigtia@qmul.ac.uk

A method for designing auditory displays and sonification using soundtrack techniques

Contact: Doon MacDonald

Email: d.macdonald@qmul.ac.uk

A novel optically-activated antenna array using an organic semi-conducting polymer for antenna beam steering

Contact: Andre Andy

Email: a.andy@qmul.ac.uk

Advanced multi-modal interactions: haptics

Contact: Pat Healey or Hamed Haddadi

Email: p.healey@qmul.ac.uk or hamed.haddadi@qmul.ac.uk

Affective computing and social signal processing

Contact: Oya Celiktutorikici or Hatice Gunes

Email: o.celiktutorikici@qmul.ac.uk or h.gunes@qmul.ac.uk

Airlight estimation for single image dehazing

Contact: Simon Emberton

Email: s.emberton@qmul.ac.uk

An automatic vibrato analysis system using filter diagonalization

Contact: Luwei Yang

Email: l.yang@qmul.ac.uk

An interactive web-based trajectory visualisation tool

Contact: Fabio Poiesi

Email: fabio.poiesi@qmul.ac.uk

An introduction of time-domain spectroscopy, including its operation fundamentals and potential applications.

Contact: Yang Zeng

Email: y.zeng@qmul.ac.uk

Analysis of multitrack music mixes

Contact: Brecht De Man

Email: b.deman@qmul.ac.uk

Audio cues for looming perception

Contact: Sonia Wilkie

Email: s.l.wilkie@qmul.ac.uk

Automatic music editing for podcasts

Contact: Adib Mehrabi

Email: adibmehrabi@gmail.com

Automatic person re-identification

Contact: Shaogang Gong or Tao Xiang

Email: s.gong@qmul.ac.uk or t.xiang@qmul.ac.uk

Automatic software security analysis: heartbleed

Contact: Edmund Robinson

Email: e.p.robinson@qmul.ac.uk

Bayesian networks to visualise risk and model uncertainty

Contact: Norman Fenton or Fabrizio Smeraldi

Email: n.fenton@qmul.ac.uk or f.smeraldi@qmul.ac.uk

Bayesian reasoning in law

Contact: Norman Fenton or Fabrizio Smeraldi

Email: n.fenton@qmul.ac.uk or f.smeraldi@qmul.ac.uk

Buffer de-bloating in wireless networks

Contact: Steve Uhlig or Felix Cuadrado

Email: steve.uhlig@qmul.ac.uk or felix.cuadrado@qmul.ac.uk

Building articulated virtual humans

Contact: Patrycia Klavdianos

Email: p.klavdianos@qmul.ac.uk

Can you guess the music genre?

Contact: Bob Sturm

Email: b.sturm@qmul.ac.uk

Comparing human-generated and animation-driven sound design

Contact: Christian Heinrichs

Email: c.heinrichs@qmul.ac.uk

Comparison of sound synthesis systems

Contact: Dave Moffat

Email: d.j.moffat@qmul.ac.uk

Compressive spectrum sensing with geolocation database

Contact: Zhijin Qin

Email: z.qin@qmul.ac.uk

Cooperative surveying with continuous connectivity

Contact: Steve Uhlig or Felix Cuadrado

Email: steve.uhlig@qmul.ac.uk or felix.cuadrado@qmul.ac.uk

Cross-domain scene understanding by motion model transfer

Contact: Xun Xu

Email: xun.xu@qmul.ac.uk

Cross-modal audio-haptic interaction with digital audio workstations

Contact: Oussama Metatla

Email: o.metatla@qmul.ac.uk

Disagreement and stancetaking in dialogue

Contact: Shauna Concannon

Email: s.concannon@qmul.ac.uk

Drought rewires the cores of food webs

Contact: Xueke Lu

Email: xueke.lu@qmul.ac.uk

EMC chamber for 0.4-12GHz electrically small antenna beam pattern measurements

Contact: Clive Parini or Robert Donnan

Email: c.g.parini@qmul.ac.uk or r.donnan@qmul.ac.uk

Enabling technologies for high resolution content interchange and delivery

Contact: Saverio Blasi or Ebroul Izquierdo

Email: s.blasi@qmul.ac.uk or ebroul.izquierdo@qmul.ac.uk

Energy efficient cooperative scheme for clustered-based IoT systems

Contact: Liumeng Song

Email: l.song@qmul.ac.uk

Evolution of popular music: USA 1960–2010

Contact: Maria Panteli

Email: m.panteli@qmul.ac.uk

Fine-grained sketch-based image retrieval by matching deformable part models

Contact: Yi Li

Email: yi.li@qmul.ac.uk

Games and abstraction for cyber security

Contact: Norman Fenton or Fabrizio Smeraldi

Email: n.fenton@qmul.ac.uk or f.smeraldi@qmul.ac.uk

Human sensing and language understanding

Contact: Riccardo Mazzon

Email: r.mazzon@qmul.ac.uk

Image understanding and 3D reconstruction

Contact: Ebroul Izquierdo or Ioannis Patras

Email: ebroul.izquierdo@qmul.ac.uk or i.patras@qmul.ac.uk

Improving the robustness of urban electricity networks

Contact: Steve Uhlig or Felix Cuadrado

Email: steve.uhlig@qmul.ac.uk or felix.cuadrado@qmul.ac.uk

Inference of personality traits and affect schedule by analysis of spontaneous reactions to affective videos

Contact: Juan Miranda Correa

Email: j.a.mirandacorrea@qmul.ac.uk

Intelligent and autonomous music production

Contact: Zheng Ma

Email: z.ma@qmul.ac.uk

Knowledge discovery and representation for large scale exploitation of forensic data

Contact: Cesar Pantoja

Email: c.pantoja@qmul.ac.uk

Learning visual saliency using topographic ICA

Contact: Daria Stefic

Email: d.stefic@qmul.ac.uk

Linking dynamic score markings with statistical properties of perceived loudness changes in audio recordings

Contact: Katerina Kosta

Email: katerina.kosta@qmul.ac.uk

Liquid spectroscopy of bio-solutions and material characterization in sub-terahertz domain using quasi-optics

Contact: Oleksandr Sushko

Email: o.sushko@qmul.ac.uk

Looking at people: faces/bodies/behaviour

Contact: Ioannis Patras

Email: i.patras@qmul.ac.uk

Making sense of big visual data

Contact: Shaogang Gong or Tao Xiang

Email: s.gong@qmul.ac.uk or t.xiang@qmul.ac.uk

Material characterisation at mm and sub-mm wave frequency bands

Contact: Clive Parini or Robert Donnan

Email: c.g.parini@qmul.ac.uk or r.donnan@qmul.ac.uk

Measuring networq QoS and predicting user QoE

Contact: Steve Uhlig or Felix Cuadrado

Email: steve.uhlig@qmul.ac.uk or felix.cuadrado@qmul.ac.uk

Modelling the decay of piano sounds

Contact: Tian Cheng

Email: t.cheng@qmul.ac.uk

MOSFET-based electroporation system design for experiments from nanoseconds to microseconds

Contact: Guangwei Jiang

Email: guangwei.jiang@qmul.ac.uk

Networks and risk

Contact: Norman Fenton or Fabrizio Smeraldi

Email: n.fenton@qmul.ac.uk or f.smeraldi@qmul.ac.uk

New sensor materials

Contact: Riccardo Mazzon

Email: r.mazzon@qmul.ac.uk

Non-invasive estimation of cardiac arhytmias

Contact: Jesus Requena Carrion

Email: j.requena@qmul.ac.uk

On the use of the tempogram to describe audio content and its application to music structural segmentation

Contact: Mi Tian

Email: m.tian@qmul.ac.uk

Optimal user association for delay-power tradeoffs in hetnets with hybrid energy sources

Contact: Dantong Liu

Email: d.liu@qmul.ac.uk

Optimized live streaming on P2P network with network coding

Contact: Shenglan Huang

Email: s.huang@qmul.ac.uk

Optimizing radio resources for heterogeneous QoS-aware OFDMA networks using semi-smart antennas

Contact: Aini Li

Email: a.li@qmul.ac.uk

Person re-identification with drones

Contact: Ryan Layne

Email: r.d.c.layne@qmul.ac.uk

Planar near-field scanner for far-field antenna pattern measurements

Contact: Clive Parini or Robert Donnan

Email: c.g.parini@qmul.ac.uk or r.donnan@qmul.ac.uk

Polymetros

Contact: Ben Bengler

Email: b.bengler@qmul.ac.uk

Presenting bayesian statistics to a general audience

Contact: Stephen Dewitt

Email: s.dewitt@qmul.ac.uk

Real and virtual engagement in realistic immersive environment

Contact: Julie Wall

Email: julie.wall@eecs.qmul.ac.uk

Real-time facial landmarks tracking system

Contact: Heng Yang

Email: heng.yang@qmul.ac.uk

Real-time personality prediction during human-robot interactions

Contact: Oya Celiktutandikic

Email: o.celiktutandikici@qmul.ac.uk

Real-time, interactive system for synthesing weather sounds

Contact: Rod Selfridge

Email: r.selfridge@qmul.ac.uk

Refining graph matching using inherent structure information

Contact: Wenzhao Li

Email: wenzhao.li@qmul.ac.uk

Routing protocol design in cognitive radio ad-hoc network

Contact: Jingwen Bai

Email: j.bai@qmul.ac.uk

Sensing and machine listening

Contact: Riccardo Mazzon

Email: r.mazzon@qmul.ac.uk

Sensing bees

Contact: Riccardo Mazzon

Email: r.mazzon@qmul.ac.uk

Sketching in the air

Contact: Li Yi

Email: yi.li@qmul.ac.uk

Smart antennas and cooperative sensor networks

Contact: Riccardo Mazzon

Email: r.mazzon@qmul.ac.uk

Sonic visualizer and tony

Contact: Chris Cannam

Email: chris.cannam@eecs.qmul.ac.uk

Study of A 0.42 THz fourth-harmonic large orbit gyrotron

Contact: Xiang Li

Email: Xiang.x.li@qmul.ac.uk

Surface and volumetric mesh generation/manipulation for transformation optics applications

Contact: Timothy M. McManus

Email: t.m.mcmanus@qmul.ac.uk

Target detection and tracking with multiple camera sensors

Contact: Riccardo Mazzon

Email: r.mazzon@qmul.ac.uk

The augmented violin

Contact: Laurel Pardue

Email: laurel.s.pardue@qmul.ac.uk

The digital music lab project

Contact: Thomas Wilmering

Email: t.wilmering@qmul.ac.uk

The human harp

Contact: Mark Sorler or Elaine Chew

Email: mark.sorler@qmul.ac.uk or elaine.chew@qmul.ac.ukk

Trajectory-aware ad hoc routing protocol for micro aerial vehicle networks

Contact: Raheeb Muzaffar

Email: r.muzaffar@qmul.ac.uk

Transcribing music using silvet

Contact: Emmanouil Benetos

Email: emmanouilb@eecs.qmul.ac.uk

Translational bioinformatics

Contact: Norman Fenton or Fabrizio Smeraldi

Email: n.fenton@qmul.ac.uk or f.smeraldi@qmul.ac.uk

Understanding complex networks

Contact: Steve Uhlig or Felix Cuadrado

Email: steve.uhlig@qmul.ac.uk or felix.cuadrado@qmul.ac.uk

User engagement towards interactive presentation of visual artworks

Contact: Jeni Maleshkova

Email: j.maleshkova@qmul.ac.uk

UWB radar system for detection and imaging of concealed metallic target

Contact: Li Lei

Email: eew370@qmul.ac.uk

UWB technology for localisation and tracking applications

Contact: Manmohan Sharma

Email: m.sharma@qmul.ac.uk

Return to top